First Call for Papers

9th International Conference on
Electronic Government and the Information Systems Perspective
Technology-Enabled Innovation for Democracy, Government and Governance
In conjunction with DEXA 2020

Bratislava, Slovakia, September 14-17, 2020


The international conference cycle EGOVIS focuses on information systems aspects of e-government. Information systems are a core enabler for electronic government/governance in all its dimensions: e-administration, e-democracy, e-participation and e-voting. Each year EGOVIS brings together experts from academia, public administrations, and industry to discuss e-government information systems from different perspectives and disciplines, i.e. technology, policy and/or governance and public administration. We search for original papers by researchers and practitioners describing novel ideas and innovative solutions in the field.

EGOVIS 2020 invites paper submissions on all topics related to e-government and the information systems perspective. Topics of interest include (but are not limited to) the following:

  • Artificial intelligence, expert systems and decision support
  • Business analytics in government, data mining and data warehousing
  • Business process reengineering
  • Civic media and social media for e-democracy
  • Cloud computing
  • Collaboration support systems
  • Cross-border initiatives
  • Cybernetics policies
  • Data Science in government: big data, open data and database aspects
  • Digital citizen cards
  • Economics of e-Government
  • e-Democracy/e-Participation
  • Education and training
  • e-Government 2.0; Web 2.0 and 3.0 applications
  • Impacts of Web 2.0 in e-Government
  • E-government enterprise architectures
  • e-Government and multilingualism
  • E-government policies and strategies
  • Electronic identity, identity management
  • Geographical information systems (GIS)
  • Governance in cyberspace
  • Government collaboration patterns
  • Information modelling and integration
  • Information retrieval
  • Information systems architecture
  • Interoperability solutions for Public Administrations
  • Knowledge management, intelligent systems
  • Legal and regulatory aspects
  • Mobile services
  • Open Government
  • Open innovation, innovation management, transparency, transformation and change management
  • Open source solutions for e-government
  • Personalization and recommender systems
  • Privacy, trust, interoperability and security
  • Regional collaboration (e.g. central European research and cross-border piloting)
  • Risk governance and management
  • Semantic Web and ontologies
  • Service-oriented architectures, web services
  • Social innovation platforms
  • Smart government and smart governance
  • Ubiquitous and pervasive computing
  • Value creation and business modelling
  • Workflow management
General chair:
  • Roland Traunmüller (University Linz)
Conference Program Chairpersons:
  • Andrea Kő, Corvinus University Budapest
  • Enrico Francesconi (Italian National Research Council, Publications Office of the EU)
Honorary Chairpersons:
  • Wichian Chutimaskul, King Mongkut's University of Technology, Thailand
  • Fernando Galindo, University Zaragoza, Spain
Program Commitees:
Important Dates:
  • Paper submission: March 16, 2020
  • Notification of acceptance: May 20, 2020
  • Camera-ready copies due: June 19, 2020
Papers Submission Details:
Authors are invited to submit electronically original contributions or experience reports in English.
  • The submitted manuscript should closely reflect the final paper as it will appear in the proceedings.
  • Papers should not exceed 15 pages in LNCS format (
  • Any submission that exceeds length limits or deviates from formatting requirements may be rejected without review.
For paper registration and electronic submission see starting January 2020.
Submitted papers will be carefully evaluated based on originality, significance, technical soundness, and clarity of exposition.
Duplicate submissions are not allowed. Authors are expected to agree to the following terms: "I understand that the paper being submitted must not overlap substantially with any other paper that I am a co-author of and that is currently submitted elsewhere. Furthermore, previously published papers with any overlap are cited prominently in this submission."
Duplicate submissions will be rejected. Questions about this policy or how it applies to your work should be directed to the PC-chairs.
Accepted Papers:
All accepted conference papers will be published in "Lecture Notes in Computer Science" (LNCS) by Springer Verlag. Accepted papers will be of two sizes: regular (15-page papers) and short (up to 8 pages). The former will tend to be descriptions of complete technical work, while the latter will tend to be descriptions of interesting, innovative ideas, which nevertheless require more work to mature. Authors of accepted papers must sign a Springer copyright release form.


For further inquiries, please contact the Conference Organisation Office