C A L L   F O R   P A P E R S


5th International Conference on

Electronic Commerce and Web Technologies


EC-Web 2004


August 30 - September 3, 2004

Zaragoza, Spain



A large number of organizations are nowadays exploiting the opportunities offered by Internet-based technologies

for electronic commerce. Companies have put their product catalogues on the Web, search engines and

directories allow electronic market participants around the globe to locate potential trading partners, and a set of

protocols and standards have been established to exchange goods and services via the Internet.

Still, numerous technical issues need to be resolved and the amount of innovation and change in this field is

prodigious. The main objective of this conference is to bring together researchers from different disciplines,

developers, and users all interested in electronic commerce and Web technologies and to assess current

methodologies and new research directions. Although a natural focus will be on computer science issues,

we welcome research contributions from economics, business administration, law, and other disciplines.

EC-Web 2004 is organized by the DEXA Association in parallel with DEXA 2004

(15th International Conference on Database and Expert Systems Applications).


Suggested Topics

The major topics of interest include but are not limited to:


*    Auction and Negotiation Technology

*    Agent-Mediated Electronic Commerce

*    Business Process Integration and Interworkflow

*    Business Process Modeling

*    Customer Relationship Management

*    Decision Support and Optimization in EC

*    Digital Goods and Products

*    Electronic Data Interchange (EDI)

*    Enterprise Application Integration

*    Electronic Contracting

*    Formation of Supply Chains, Coalitions, and
Virtual Enterprises

*    Grid Computing for EC

*    Intellectual Property Licensing

*    IPR, Legal and Privacy Issues

*    Knowledge Discovery in Web-based IS and EC

*    Languages and Ontologies for Describing Goods,
Services, and Contracts

*    Mobile Commerce

*    P2P-Computing

*    Pricing and Metering of On-Demand Services

*    Quality of Service (Performance, Security, Reliabilty, etc.)

*    Recommender Systems

*    Rule Languages and Rule-based Systems

*    Security and Trust in EC

*    Semantic Web

*    Supply Chain Management and Supplier
Relationship Management

*    Ubiquitous and Pervasive Technologies for EC

*    Usability Issues for EC

*    User Behaviour, Web Usage Mining

*    Web Data Quality Aspects

*    Web Data Visualization

*    Web Services Computing

*    Web Site Monitoring

*    XML-based Standards

*    Applications and Case Studies in EC



Paper Submission Details and Important Dates

Authors are invited to submit original research contributions in English. Paper submission in LNCS format would

be appreciated (http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html). Papers should not exceed 10 pages

(i.e. 10 LNCS formatted pages). For paper registration and electronic submission please see

http://www.dexa.org, starting from the first week of December 2003.

Submitted papers will be carefully evaluated based on originality, significance, technical soundness, and clarity of

exposition. All accepted conference papers will be published in "Lecture Notes in Computer Science" (LNCS) by

Springer Verlag. For further inquiries, please contact any of the program chairs or the Conference Organisation

Office (gabriela@faw.uni-linz.ac.at).


* Submission of abstracts: February 21, 2004

* Submission of full papers: February 29, 2004 !!! EXTENSION: March 15, 2004 !!!

* Notification of acceptance: May 10, 2004

* Camera-ready copies due: June 10, 2004


General Chair

Kurt Bauknecht, University of Zurich, Switzerland


Program Chairs

Martin Bichler, Technical University of Munich, Germany (bichler*at*in.tum.de)

Birgit Proell, FAW, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria (birgit@faw.uni-linz.ac.at)


Program Committee

Bharat Bhargava, Purdue University, USA

Sourav S. Bhowmick, Nanyang Tech. Univ., Singapore

Susanne Boll, University of Oldenburg, Germany

Walter Brenner, Univ. of St. Gallen, Switzerland

Stephane Bressan, Nat. Univ. of Singapore, Singapore

Tanya Castleman, Deakin University, Australia

Wojciech Cellary, Poznan Univ. of Economics, Poland

Jen-Yao Chung, IBM Watson Research Center, USA

Roger Clarke, Australian National University, Australia

Asuman Dogac, Middle East Technical Univ., Turkey

Eduardo Fernandez, Florida Atlantic Univ., USA

Elena Ferrari, University of Insubria at Como, Italy

Farshad Fotouhi, Wayne State University, USA

Yongjian Fu, Cleveland State University, USA

Chanan Glezer, Ben Gurion Univ. of the Negev, Israel

Rüdiger Grim, Univ. of Technology Ilmenau, Germany

Manfred Hauswirth, EPFL, Switzerland

Thomas Hess, LMU Munich, Germany

Yigal Hoffner, IBM Zurich Research Lab., Switzerland

Christian Huemer, University of Vienna, Austria

Gregory E. Kersten, University of Ottawa, Canada

Hiroyuki Kitagawa, University of Tsukuba, Japan

Wolfgang Koenig, Frankfurt University, Germany

Gabriele Kotsis, Johannes Kepler Univ. Linz, Austria

Winfried Lamersdorf, University of Hamburg, Germany

Alberto Laender, Federal Univ. of Minas Gerais, Brazil

Juhnyoung Lee, IBM Watson Research Center, USA

Leszek Lilien, Purdue University, USA

Ee-Peng Lim, Nanyang Technological Univ., Singapore

Huan Liu, Arizona State University, USA

Heiko Ludwig, IBM Watson Research Center, USA

Sanjay Kumar Madria, Univ. of Missouri-Rolla, USA

Michael Merz, Ponton Consulting GmbH, Germany

Bamshad Mobasher, DePaul University, USA

Natwar Modani, Oracle, India

Mukesh Mohania, IBM India Research Lab, India

Gustaf Neumann, Vienna Univ. of Econ. and BA, Austria

Wee-Keong Ng, Nanyang Tech. University, Singapore

Rolf Oppliger, eSECURITY Technologies, Switzerland

Stefano Paraboschi, University of Bergamo, Italy

Oscar Pastor, Valencia University of Technology, Spain

Günther Pernul, University of Regensburg, Germany

Evangelia Pitoura, University of Ioannina, Greece

Gerald Quirchmayr, University of Vienna, Austria

Indrakshi Ray, Colorado State University, USA

Werner Retschitzegger, Joh. Kepler Univ. Linz, Austria

Tomas Sabol, Technical University of Kosice, Slovakia

Nandlal L. Sarda, Indian Institute of Tech. Bombay, India

Michael Stroebel, BMW Group, Germany

Roger M. Tagg, University of South Australia, Australia

Kian-Lee Tan, National Univ. of Singapore, Singapore

Stephanie Teufel, University of Fribourg, Switzerland

Bruce H. Thomas, University of South Australia, Australia

A Min Tjoa, Technical University of Vienna, Austria

Aphrodite Tsalgatidou, University of Athens, Greece

Krishnamurthy Vidyasankar, Univ. Newfoundland, Canada

Hans Weigand, Tilburg University, The Netherlands

Christof Weinhardt, University of Karlsruhe, Germany

Hannes Werthner, University of Trento, Italy

Andrew Whinston, University of Texas, USA


Conference Organization Office

Gabriela Wagner, FAW, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria (gabriela@faw.uni-linz.ac.at).