Universidad de Zaragoza

Campus Plaza San Francisco

Facultad de Derecho, Ciudad Universitaria, Pedro Cerbuna s/n, 50009 Zaragoza

Founded on 1542, the University of Zaragoza is the only university of the Community of Aragón and has campus in Huesca, Teruel and Zaragoza.

The University of Zaragoza is the main centre of technological innovation in the Ebro Valley and has great prestige among the group of both Spanish and European universities it has relations with.

Through the Vice-Rectorship for International Relations, the University of Zaragoza participates in various exchange programmes, collaborating with universities and research centres from Europe, Latin America and the USA, thereby strengthening its international standing.


The City of Zaragoza is located at an altitude of 240 metres above sea level, on the right bank of the river in the Middle Ebro Valley, where in addition two other rivers, the Gallego and the Huerva, and the Imperial Canal of Aragon flow together. The 2001 census placed its population at 614,905 inhabitants, making it the fifth largest city in Spain.

Zaragoza is the capital and political and administrative centre of the Autonomous Community of Aragon, one of the 17 Autonomous Communities comprising the Spanish state. It has a total area of 47,650 square kilometres, or 9.44% of the national territory. The metropolitan area covers1,059.9 square kilometres, thus being one of the largest in Spain.

Zaragoza is an incomparable city. Its Iberian, Roman, Moslem and Christian past have each contributed their part to making it the beautiful and surprising city it is today.

Zaragoza is conveniently linked to the national and European road systems through the Ebro axis, the Mediterranean and Atlantic motorways, and by the central pass through the Pyrenees at Somport, the upper end of the future north-south link to the Mediterranean Coast.