DEXA 2005 Copenhagen Pictures


6th International Conference on
Electronic Commerce and Web Technologies

EC-Web 2005

August 23 - August 26, 2005
Copenhagen, Denmark

A large number of organizations are exploiting the opportunities offered by Internet-based technologies for electronic commerce and electronic business. Companies sell and purchase via the Internet, search engines and directories allow electronic market participants around the globe to locate potential trading partners, and a set of protocols and standards has been established to exchange goods and services via the Internet. The Internet is changing the way how companies and organizations are working, and the amount of innovation and change seems to accelerate. However, numerous technical issues need still to be resolved. The main objective of this conference is to bring together researchers and practitioners from different disciplines, all interested in electronic commerce and Web technologies and to assess current methodologies and new research directions. Although a natural focus will be on computer science issues, we welcome research contributions from economics, business administration, law, and other disciplines. EC-Web 2005 is organized by the DEXA Association in parallel with DEXA 2005 (16th International Conference on Database and Expert Systems Applications).

Suggested Topics
The major topics of interest include but are not limited to:

* Auction and Negotiation Technology
* Agent-Mediated Electronic Commerce
* Business Process Integration
* Business Process Modeling
* Customer Relationship Management
* Decision Support and Optimization in EC
* Digital Goods and Products

* Electronic Data Interchange (EDI)
* Enterprise Application Integration
* Electronic Contracting
* Formation of Supply Chains, Coalitions, and Virtual Enterprises
* Grid Computing for EC
* Intellectual Property Licensing
* Interorganizational Systems
* IPR, Legal and Privacy Issues
* Knowledge Discovery in Web-based IS and EC

* Languages and Ontologies for Describing Goods, Services, and Contracts
* Mobile Commerce
* P2P-Computing
* Pricing and Metering of On-Demand Services
* Quality of Service (Performance, Security, Reliabilty, etc.)
* Recommender Systems
* Rule Languages and Rule-based Systems
* Security and Trust in EC
* Semantic Web

* Supply Chain Management and Supplier Relationship Management
* Ubiquitous and Pervasive Technologies for EC
* Usability Issues for EC
* User Behavior, Web Usage Mining
* Web Data Quality Aspects
* Web Data Visualization
* Web Services Computing
* Web Site Monitoring
* XML-based Standards

* Applications and Case Studies in EC

Paper Submission Details and Important Dates

Authors are invited to submit original research contributions in English, following the LNCS format ( Papers should not exceed 10 pages (i.e. 10 LNCS formatted pages). Submitted papers will be carefully evaluated based on originality, significance, technical soundness, and clarity of exposition. All accepted papers will be published in "Lecture Notes in Computer Science" (LNCS) by Springer Verlag.

For paper registration and electronic submission please see, starting from the second week of December 2004. For further inquiries, please contact any of the program chairs or the Conference Organisation Office (

* Submission of abstracts: February 19, 2005
* Submission of full papers: February 26, 2005
* Notification of acceptance: May 10, 2005
* Camera-ready copies due: June 10, 2005

Call for panel proposal

This track intends to enhance the debate on short-term and long-term developments.
Panels examining innovative issues of interest are solicited. But we also encourage to submit critical and provocative contributions. Panel proposals should provide sufficient information to judge the importance, quality, and benefits for the research community. Ideally, panels should last 1,5 hour.

Proposals should provide the following information on 1-2 pages:

* Title of the proposed panel
* Names and full addresses, including contact details, of the panel moderator / organizer.
* A brief description of the panel’s topic and goals, its relevance to EC-Web and significance for the research field.
* Names, addresses, and home page links of people who have agreed to be part of the panel. This list should
preferably include people from at least three different sites.
* A brief description of the moderator’s experience and background in the topic, including links to his web pages.

For submission dates, electronic submission and registration, please refer to the information given for paper submission. Make sure, that your uploaded document includes an annotation "Panel Proposal".


General Chair:

  • Kurt Bauknecht, University of Zurich, Switzerland

Program Chairs:

  • Birgit Pröll, FAW, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria (
  • Hannes Werthner, University of Innsbruck, Austria (

Program Committee

Sourav S. Bhowmick, Nanyang Tech. University, Singapore
Martin Bichler, TU Munich, Germany
Niels Bjørn-Andersen, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
Susanne Boll, University of Oldenburg, Germany
Walter Brenner, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland
Stephane Bressan, Nat. University of Singapore, Singapore
Tanya Castleman, Deakin University, Australia

Wojciech Cellary, Poznan University of Economics, Poland
Jen-Yao Chung, IBM Watson Research Center, USA
Roger Clarke, Xamax Consultancy Pty Ltd, Australia
Eduardo Fernandez, Florida Atlantic Univ., USA
Elena Ferrari, University of Insubria at Como, Italy
Farshad Fotouhi, Wayne State University, USA
Karl Fröschl, Electronic Commerce Center, Austria
Yongjian Fu, Cleveland State University, USA
Chanan Glezer, Ben Gurion University, Israel

Rüdiger Grim, University of Technology Ilmenau, Germany
Manfred Hauswirth, EPFL, Switzerland
Thomas Hess, LMU Munich, Germany
Yigal Hoffner, IBM Zurich Research Lab., Switzerland
Christian Huemer, University of Vienna, Austria
Gregory E. Kersten, University of Ottawa, Canada
Hiroyuki Kitagawa, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Gabriele Kotsis, Johannes Kepler Univ. Linz, Austria
Winfried Lamersdorf, University of Hamburg, Germany

Alberto Laender, Federal Univ. of Minas Gerais, Brazil
Juhnyoung Lee, IBM Watson Research Center, USA
Leszek T. Lilien, Purdue University, USA
Ee-Peng Lim, Nanyang Technological Univ., Singapore
Huan Liu, Arizona State University, USA
Heiko Ludwig, IBM Watson Research Center, USA
Sanjay Kumar Madria, Univ. of Missouri-Rolla, USA
Bamshad Mobasher, DePaul University, USA
Natwar Modani, IBM India Research Lab, India

Mukesh Mohania, IBM India Research Lab, India
Gustaf Neumann, Vienna Univ. of Econ. and BA, Austria
Wee-Keong Ng, Nanyang Tech. University, Singapore
Rolf Oppliger, eSECURITY Technologies, Switzerland
Oscar Pastor, Technical University of Valencia, Spain
Günther Pernul, University of Regensburg, Germany
Evangelia Pitoura, University of Ioannina, Greece
Giuseppe Psaila, University of Bergamo, Italy
Gerald Quirchmayr, University of Vienna, Austria

Indrakshi Ray, Colorado State University, USA
Werner Retschitzegger, Joh. Kepler Univ. Linz, Austria
Tomas Sabol, Technical University of Kosice, Slovakia
Nandlal L. Sarda, Indian Institute of Tech. Bombay, India
Steffen Staab, University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany
Michael Ströbel, BMW Group, Germany
Roger M. Tagg, University of South Australia, Australia
Kian-Lee Tan, National Univ. of Singapore, Singapore
Stephanie Teufel, University of Fribourg, Switzerland

Bruce H. Thomas, University of South Australia, Australia
A Min Tjoa, Technical University of Vienna, Austria
Aphrodite Tsalgatidou, University of Athens, Greece
Krishnamurthy Vidyasankar, Univ. Newfoundland, Canada
Hans Weigand, Tilburg University, The Netherlands
Christof Weinhardt, University of Karlsruhe, Germany

Conference Organization Office

Gabriela Wagner, FAW, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria (