Call for Papers - TrustBus '14

11th International Conference on Trust, Privacy & Security in Digital Business - TrustBus 2014

Munich, Germany
September 1 - 5, 2014

Date modified: September 2 - 3, 2014

The advances in the Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) have raised new opportunities for the implementation of novel applications and the provision of high quality services over global networks. The aim is to utilize this ‘information society era’ for improving the quality of life for all citizens, disseminating knowledge, strengthening social cohesion, generating earnings and finally ensuring that organizations and public bodies remain competitive in the global electronic marketplace.

Unfortunately, such a rapid technological evolution cannot be problem free. Concerns are raised regarding the ‘lack of trust’ in electronic procedures and the extent to which ‘information security’ and ‘user privacy’ can be ensured.

In answer to these concerns, the 11th International Conference on Trust, Privacy and Security in Digital Business (TrustBus’14) will provide an international forum for researchers and practitioners to exchange information regarding advancements in the state of the art and practice of trust, security and privacy in digital business.

TrustBus’14 will bring together researchers from different disciplines, developers, and users all interested in the critical success factors of digital business systems. We are interested in papers, work-in-progress reports, and industrial experiences describing advances in all areas of digital business applications related to trust and privacy, including, but not limited to:

  • Anonymity and pseudonymity in business transactions
  • Delivery technologies and scheduling protocols
  • Economics of Information Systems Security
  • Enterprise management and consumer protection
  • Intellectual property and digital rights management
  • Languages for description of services and contracts
  • Models for access control and authentication
  • New cryptographic building-blocks for e-business applications
  • PKI & PMI
  • P2P transactions and scenarios
  • Reliability and security of content and data
  • Reputation in services provision
  • Security and Privacy models for Pervasive Information Systems
  • Shopping, trading, and contract management tools
  • Transactional Models
  • Usability of security technologies and services
  • Business architectures and underlying infrastructures
  • Common practice, legal and regulatory issues
  • Cryptographic protocols
  • Design of businesses models with security requirements
  • Electronic cash, wallets and pay-per-view systems
  • Identity and Trust Management
  • Intrusion detection and information filtering
  • Management of privacy & confidentiality
  • Multimedia web services
  • Online transaction processing
  • Public administration, governmental services
  • Real-time Internet E-Services
  • Reliable auction, e-procurement and negotiation technology
  • Secure process integration and management
  • Security Policies
  • Smartcard technology
  • Trust and privacy issues in mobile commerce environments
  • Trust and Big Data


  • Submission of full papers: March 14, 2014 ---- extended to March 21, 2014
  • Notification of acceptance: May 15, 2014
  • Camera-ready copies due: June 10, 2014

Paper Submission Details

Authors are invited to submit original papers not previously published nor submitted in parallel for publication to any other conference, workshop or journal. Papers should be limited to 12 pages of 11pt type including title page, figures and bibliography. To submit a paper to TrustBus’2014 please use the DEXA Conf Driver Conference Management System.

A special session devoted to results of EU funded R&D projects is also being planned.

Accepted papers will be included in the Conference proceedings, to be published by Springer in their LNCS series. Camera-ready versions of the papers should not exceed 12 pages and must comply with the “Authors Instructions” that can be found at:

Selected papers from the conference may be invited for publication in extended form in a special issue of a journal.

For further inquiries, please contact one of the program committee chairs at ska(-at-)unipi(-dot-)gr or guenther.pernul(-at-)wiwi.uni-regensburg(-dot-)de.

General Chairpersons:

  • Claudia Eckert, Technical University of Munich, Fraunhofer Research Institution for Applied and Integrated Security (AISEC), Germany

Conference Program Chairpersons:

  • Sokratis K.Katsikas, University of Piraeus, Deptartment of Digital Systems, and National Council of Education, Greece
  • Günther Pernul, University of Regensburg, Department of Information Systems, and Bayerischer Forschungsverbund FORSEC, Germany

Program Committee:

, ()
George Aggelinos, University of Piraeus (Greece)
Isaac Agudo, University of Malaga (Spain)
Preneel Bart, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium) (Belgium)
Marco Casassa Mont, HP Labs Bristol ()
David Chadwick, University of Kent (United Kingdom)
Nathan Clarke, Plymouth University (United Kingdom)
Frederic Cuppens, ENST Bretagne (France)
Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati, University of Milan (Italy)
Prokopios Drogkaris, Laboratory of Information and Communication Systems Security, University of the Aegean (Greece)
Damiani Ernesto, Universitá degli Studi di Milano (Italy)
Carmen Fernandez-Gago, University of Malaga (Spain)
Simone Fischer-Huebner, Karlstad University (Sweden)
Sara Foresti, Universita' degli Studi di Milano (Italy)
Juergen Fuss, University of Applied Science in Hagenberg (Austria)
Dimitris Geneiatakis, Digital Citizen Security Unit, Joint Research Center, European Commision (Italy)
Dimitris Gritzalis, Athens Univ. of Economics and Business (Greece)
Stefanos Gritzalis, University of the Aegean (Greece)
Marit Hansen, Independent Centre for Privacy Protection, Kiel (Germany)
Audun Jøsang, Oslo University (Norway)
Christos Kalloniatis, University of the Aegean (Greece)
Maria Karyda, University of the Aegean (Greece)
Dogan Kesdogan, University of Regensburg (Germany)
Spyros Kokolakis, University of the Aegean (Greece)
Costas Lambrinoudakis, University of Piraeus (Greece)
Antonio Lioy, Politecnico di Torino (Italy)
Javier Lopez, University of Malaga (Spain)
Fabio Martinelli, National Research Council - C.N.R (Italy)
Vashek Matyas, Masaryk University (Czech Republic)
Haris Mouratidis, University of Brighton (United Kingdom)
Markowitch Olivier, Universite Libre de Bruxelles (Belgium)
Martin S. Olivier, University of Pretoria (South Africa)
Rolf Oppliger, eSECURITY Technologies (Switzerland)
Maria Papadaki, University of Plymouth (United Kingdom)
Andreas Pashalidis, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium)
Ahmed Patel, Kingston University - University Kebangsaan (Malaysia) (United Kingdom)
Joachim Posegga, Inst. of IT-Security and Security Law, Passau (Germany)
Panagiotis Rizomiliotis, University of the aegean (Greece)
Carsten Rudolph, Fraunhofer Institute for Secure Information Technology SIT (Germany)
Christoph Ruland, University of Siegen (Germany)
Pierangela Samarati, University of Milan (Italy)
Ingrid Schaumueller-Bichl, Upper Austria University of Applied Sciences, Hagenberg Campus (Austria)
Matthias Schunter, Intel Labs ()
George Spathoulas, University of Piraeus (Greece)
Stephanie Teufel, University of Fribourg (Switzerland)
Marianthi Theoharidou, Athens University of Economics and Business (Greece)
A Min Tjoa, Vienna University of Technology (Austria)
Allan Tomlinson, Royal Holloway, University of London (United Kingdom)
Aggeliki Tsohou, University of Jyvaskyla (Finland)
Edgar Weippl, SBA ()
Christos Xenakis, University of Piraeus (Greece)
to be completed