First Call for Papers

5th International Conference on

Electronic Government and the Information Systems Perspective


Technology-Enabled Innovation for Democracy, Government and Governance

In conjunction with DEXA 2016

Porto (Portugal), September 5-8, 2016

The international conference cycle EGOVIS focuses on information systems aspects of e-government. Information systems are a core enabler for electronic government/governance in all its dimensions: e-administration, e-democracy, e-participation and e-voting. Each year EGOVIS brings together experts from academia, public administrations, and industry to discuss e-government information systems from different perspectives and disciplines, i.e. technology, policy and/or governance and public administration. We search for original papers by researchers and practitioners describing novel ideas and innovative solutions in the field.

EGOVIS 2016 invites paper submissions on all topics related to e-government and the information systems perspective. Topics of interest include (but are not limited to) the following:

  • Business intelligence in government, data mining and data warehousing
  • Business process reengineering
  • Civic media and social media for e-democracy
  • Cloud computing in government
  • Collaboration support systems
  • Cross-border initiatives
  • Cybernetics policies
  • Data Science in government: big data, open data and database aspects
  • Digital citizen cards
  • Digital libraries
  • Economics of e-Government
  • e-Democracy/e-Participation
  • Education and training
  • e-Government 2.0; Web 2.0 and 3.0 applications
  •  impacts of Web 2.0 in e-Government
  • E-government enterprise architectures
  • E-government policies and strategies
  • Electronic identity, identity management
  • Electronic signature
  • Expert systems and decision support systems
  • Geographical information systems (GIS)
  • Governance in cyberspace
  • Government collaboration patterns
  • Information modelling and integration
  • Intelligent systems and application of artificial intelligence
  • Information systems architecture
  • Knowledge management in government
  • Legal and regulatory aspects
  • Metadata and public information
  • Mobile services
  • Open Government
  • Open innovation, innovation management, transparency, transformation and change management
  • Open source solutions for e-government
  • Personalization and recommender systems
  • Privacy, trust, interoperability and security
  • Regional collaboration (e.g. central European research and cross-border piloting)
  • Risk governance and management
  • Semantic Web and ontologies
  • Service-oriented architectures, web services
  • Social innovation platforms
  • Smart government and smart governance
  • Ubiquitous and pervasive computing
  • Value creation and business modelling
  • Workflow management

General Chair:

  • Roland Traunmüller, University Linz, Austria

Conference Program Chairpersons:

  • Andrea Kő, Corvinus University Budapest, Hungary
  • Enrico Francesconi, Italian National Resaerch Council, Italy

Honorary Chairpersons:

  • Wichian Chutimaskul, King Mongkut's University of Technology, Thailand
  • Fernando Galindo, University Zaragoza, Spain


  • Paper submission:                     March 3, 2016 ------ extended to March 23, 2016
  • Notification of acceptance:        May 3, 2016
  • Camera-ready copies due:        May 31, 2016


Authors are invited to submit electronically original contributions or experience reports in English.

  • The submitted manuscript should closely reflect the final paper as it will appear in the proceedings.
  • Papers should not exceed 15 pages in LNCS format (
  • Any submission that exceeds length limits or deviates from formatting requirements may be rejected without review.

For paper registration and electronic submission see starting January 2016.

Submitted papers will be carefully evaluated based on originality, significance, technical soundness, and clarity of exposition.

Duplicate submissions are not allowed. Authors are expected to agree to the following terms: "I understand that the paper being submitted must not overlap substantially with any other paper that I am a co-author of and that is currently submitted elsewhere. Furthermore, previously published papers with any overlap are cited prominently in this submission."

Duplicate submissions will be rejected. Questions about this policy or how it applies to your work should be directed to the PC-chairs.


All accepted conference papers will be published in "Lecture Notes in Computer Science" (LNCS) by Springer Verlag. Accepted papers will be of two sizes: regular (15-page papers) and short (up to 8 pages). The former will tend to be descriptions of complete technical work, while the latter will tend to be descriptions of interesting, innovative ideas, which nevertheless require more work to mature. Authors of accepted papers must sign a Springer copyright release form.

For further inquiries, please contact the Conference Organisation Office (

Program Committee:

Álvarez Sabucedo, Luis (Universidade de Vigo, Spain)
Berce, Jaro (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia)
Buccafurri, Francesco (Università degli Studi Mediterranea di Reggio Calabria, Italy, Italy)
Cechich, Alejandra (Universidad Nacional del Comahue, Argentina)
Cellary, Wojciech (Poznan University of Economics, Poland)
Chutimaskul, Wichian (King Mongkut's University of Technology, Thailand)
Corradini, Flavio (University of Camerino, Italy)
Cyras, Vytautas (Vilnius University, Lithuania)
Fondevila Gascón, Joan Francesc (Universitat Pompeu Fabra, UdG, URL, UCJC, UAB, UB, UOC & CECABLE, Spain)
Francesconi, Enrico (Italian National Research Council, Italy)
Futo, Ivan (National Tax and Customs Administration, Hungary)
Gábor, András (Corvinus University of Budapest, Hungary)
Galindo, Fernando (University of Zaragoza, Spain)
García Marco, Francisco Javier (University of Zaragoza, Spain)
Gritzalis, Stefanos (University of the Aegean, Greece)
Hansen, Henning Sten (Aalborg University, Denmark)
Kalloniatis, Christos (University of the Aegean, Greece)
Karacapilidis, Nikos (University of Patras, Greece)
Kavakli, Evangelia (University of the Aegean, Greece)
Klicek, Bozidar (University of Zagreb, Faculty of Organization and Informatics Varazdin, Croatia)
Kor, Ah Lian (Leeds Beckett University, United Kingdom)
Kwon, Hun-yeong (Korea University, Korea, Rep.)
Kö, Andrea (Corvinus University Budapest, Hungary)
Leitner, Christine (Centre for Economics and Public Administration ltd. (CEPA), United Kingdom)
Leitold, Herbert (E-Government Innovation Center EGIZ, Austria)
Mach, Marian (Technical University of Ko?ice, Slovakia)
Mambrey, Peter (University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany)
Nikolaidou, Mara (Harokopio University of Athens, Greece)
Nogueras, Javier (University of Zaragoza, Spain)
Palmirani, Monica (University of Bologna, Italy)
Pasic, Aljosa (Atos, Spain)
Polini, Andrea (UNICAM, Italy)
Posch, Reinhard (Technical University Graz, Austria)
Rover, Aires J (Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil)
Rupp, Christian (Federal Chancellery of Austria / Federal Platform Digital Austria, Austria)
Schweighofer, Erich (University of Vienna, Austria)
Sta, Hatem Ben (National University of Ireland Galway, Ireland)
Taylor-Smith, Ella (Edinburgh Napier University, United Kingdom)
Uskenbaeva, Raissa (International University, Kazakhstan)
Valero, Julian (iDertec - Innovation, Law & Technology research group. University of Murcia, Spain)
Vassilakis, Costas (University of the Peloponnese, Greece)
Viscusi, Gianluigi (EPFL - CDM -CSI, Switzerland)
Wills, Christopher C. (Caris Research Ltd)
Wilson, Frank (Interaction Design, United Kingdom)
Woitsch, Robert (BOC Asset Management, Austria)
Yu, Chien-Chih (National ChengChi University, Taiwan)

to be completed.
CfP_EGOVIS_2016_PC.pdf148.04 KB